I must be getting soft in my old age. Tipster Misty sent me a story about a 27-year-old woman from Florida who gave birth at home then placed the newborn in a trash bag where she died. I used to go ballistic over reading stories like this but for some reason now I couldn’t be too harsh on this woman. We don’t know her situation.
The woman was Hispanic and lived with her adult siblings and mother. We don’t know what was going on at the home. We don’t know if the woman herself was in danger from the family if it was revealed or from someone else. She has been charged with manslaughter however. Instead of piling on this woman I decided it was time to talk about the state Safe Haven Laws in the U.S. again.
Each of the 50 states has their own law in which you can drop off a newborn baby at certain places safely with no questions asked. With so many of these stories that constantly show up in the news it makes me wonder if the states are not doing enough to inform the public about these laws. So I’m going to give them a little hand.
For instance this story took place in Florida and according to Florida’s Safe Haven law…
You can leave your baby, up to 7 days old, with an employee at any hospital, emergency medical services station or with a fire fighter at any fire station in Florida.
They also have a crisis line you can call at 1-877-767 BABY (2229).